downloadGroupGroupnoun_press release_995423_000000 copyGroupnoun_Feed_96767_000000Group 19noun_pictures_1817522_000000Group 19Group 19noun_Photo_2085192_000000 Copynoun_presentation_2096081_000000Group 19Group Copy 7noun_webinar_692730_000000Path
Skip to main content

Each year since 1989, the European SEMI Award is presented to a person or team who has made a significant contribution to the European semiconductor, micro-systems, photovoltaic, and display industries.

We encourage you to nominate an eligible candidate. This award, which demonstrates the industry's high esteem for the recipient, will be presented at the ISS Europe conference to be held in 2021 (21-23 April, Brussels, Belgium).

If you know of a person or a group who has made a significant contribution to the semiconductor equipment and/or materials industry, please submit your nominations by 16 September 2019.

European SEMI Award Guidelines (including: Eligibility, Selection Criteria, Areas for Consideration)

To nominate a person or a team for the European SEMI Award, please use this Nomination Form / Alternate Nomination Form (pdf) 

*The call for nomination is now closed. Thank you for your submission.

Cassandra Melvin at


European SEMI Award Honors STMicroelectronics and TU Delft

MILAN, Italy ─ April 2, 2019 ─ SEMI today announced recipients of the 2018 European SEMI Award at the SEMI Industry Strategy Symposium Europe (ISS Europe 2019), recognizing their seminal work in the field of power technology, digital front-end manufacturing and lithography. The award winners’ pioneering research and collaboration with academia and industry led to major advances in semiconductor technologies.

>> Read the full Press Release

European SEMI Award
“With its focus on winning in the global marketplace, the Industry Strategy Symposium Europe (ISS Europe) is the ideal stage for recognizing the leadership excellence and technical and strategic contributions that led to critical advances in our industry”
Laith Altimime, SEMI Europe President



SEMI European Award Recipients

  • 2018: Joël Hartmann, Executive VP of STMicroelectronics, Digital & Smart Power Technology and Digital Front-End Manufacturing
  • 2018: Special Service Award: Mart Graef, Strategic Program Manager on the faculty of Electrical Engineering, Mathematics and Computer Science at Delft University of Technology (TU Delft)
  • 2017: Bernard Aspar, Soitec; Jean-Pierre Raskin, UCL
  • 2017: Special Service Award: Dr. Andreas Wild, executive director, ECSEL
  • 2016: Rolf Aschenbrenner, Fraunhofer IZM, Eric Beyne, imec and Gilles Poupon, CEA-LETI  
  • 2015: Paul Lindner, EV Group
  • 2014: Albert Theuwissen, CEO, Harvest Imaging
  • 2013: Benedetto Vigna, STMicroelectronics
  • 2012: Dr. Franz Auerbach, Dr. Gerald Deboy, Dr. Hans Weber und Dr. Reinhard Ploss, Infineon
  • 2011: Tibor Pavelka, Semilab
  • 2010: Herbert Reichl, Fraunhofer Institut IZM
  • 2010 Lifetime Achievement Award: Peter Woditsch, Deutsche Solar
  • 2009: Holger Juergensen, Aixtron
  • 2009 Special Service Award: Enrico Villa, STMicroelectronics
  • 2008: Gilbert Declerck, IMEC
  • 2007: Michael Toepper, Fraunhofer IZM
  • 2006: Martin van den Brink, ASML and Winfried Kaiser, Carl Zeiss.
  • 2006 Special Service Award: Sir Robin Saxby, ARM
  • 2005: Dr Horst Reichardt, DAS
  • 2004: Dr Tuomo Suntola
  • 2003: Dr Carola Bläsing, Leica.
  • 2003 Special Service Award: Joël Monnier, STMicroelectronics
  • 2002: Franz Sumnitsch, SEZ
  • 2001: Robert Falster, MEMC
  • 2000: Dr. Peter Kücher and Horia Grecu, Semiconductor 300
  • 2000 Special Service Award: Willem Maris, ASML
  • 1999: Dr.André-Jacques Auberton-Hervé, Soitec. Michel Bruel, CEA-LETI
  • 1998: Karl Nicklaus, ESEC
  • 1997 Hans-Georg Betz, STEAG. Diethard Huber, Wacker Siltronic
  • 1996: Dr Peter Eichinger, GeMeTec.
  • 1996 Special Service Award: Eric Kamerbeek, ASMI
  • 1995: Bruno Murari, ST Microelectronics
  • 1994: Prof. Dr. Roger Van Overstraeten, IMEC
  • 1993: Heinrich Walk, AST
  • 1992: Dr Winfried Süss, Karl Süss
  • 1992 Special Service Award: Guilio Grata, European Commission
  • 1991: Jacques Trotel, Elisa
  • 1990: Dr. Steve Wittekoek, ASML
  • 1989: Prof. Dr Jürgen Warnecke, Fraunhofer Institut