Biography - Dr. Ralph R. Dammel, AZ Electronic Materials


Dr. Ralph R. Dammel, Chief Technology Officer, AZ Electronic Materials

Ralph R. Dammel received a Ph.D. in chemistry from the J.W. Goethe University in Frankfurt/FRG in 1986. He joined Hoechst AG’s Central Research Laboratory in Frankfurt/FRG in the same year to work on chemically amplified X-ray and e-beam resists, and has since then worked on the design and characterization of photoresists and antireflective coatings for micro- and nanolithography at almost every wavelength used by the industry. Dr. Dammel is currently employed as Chief Technology Officer (CTO) for AZ Electronic Materials, a global supplier of photochemicals and other materials to the semiconductor industry. Dr. Dammel is responsible for all of AZ’s worldwide R&D and technical activities, with particular focus on the Integrated Circuit (IC), Optronics, and dielectrics (PHPS) areas, which together comprise over 200 researchers in the US, Japan, Korea, Taiwan, and Germany. In this function, he reports directly to the CEO of AZ Electronic Materials.

Dr. Dammel is the author of over 200 scientific papers in chemistry and microlithography and is an inventor on over 90 patent families in the field. His monograph “Diazonaphthoquinone-based Resists” is generally recognized as the definitive book on the subject. Dr. Dammel is an Associate Editor of the Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, Microfabrication, and Microsystems (JM3), and he has acted as tutor and instructor in multiple courses for the International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE) and the American Chemical Society (ACS). Dr. Dammel has repeatedly served as conference chairperson and member of program committees for most of the field’s key conferences, such as SPIE’s Microlithography Conference, the Conference of Photopolymer Science and Technology (Japan), SEMATECH’s advanced lithography symposia, and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers’ (IEEE) Lithography Workshop. In spring 2009, Dr. Dammel was elected as SPIE Fellow. He received the Photopolymer Science and Technology Outstanding Achievement Award in June 2011.