Meyya Meyyappan - In-Space Manufacturing

Plenary 2: Applications & Markets II

In-Space Manufacturing: A Multimaterial Fab Lab for the International Space Station
Tuesday, February 13, 2018
10:45 AM - 11:10 AM

This talk will present an overview of NASA's In-space Manufacturing (ISM) Initiative and the developments to date. Currently, the capability to reproduce or repair failed devices and hardware does not exist in the International Space Station (ISS) or beyond low earth orbit. Delivering on-demand manufacturing capability to ISS and beyond enables the possibility of terrestrial self-supporting manufacturing infrastructures to be deployed anywhere regardless of how isolated the environment. This framework for sustainability will apply to many areas within In-Space Manufacturing and will lead to a decrease in cost of future missions, ground operations, and earth dependence. The talk will show the current capabilities in ISS and how they are getting utilized. Printable electronics is key to meeting demands in ISS for gas, bio and radiation sensors, batteries, supercapacitors, memory devices, Rf antennas and many other components. Our Printable Electronics program has developed much of these capabilities and examples will be presented. The author thanks the NASA ISM Team and the Printable Electronics Team at NASA Ames.

Speaker's Biography

Meyya Meyyappan is Chief Scientist for Exploration Technology at NASA Ames Research Center in Moffett Field, CA. He is a founding member of the Interagency Working Group on Nanotechnology (IWGN) established by the Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP). The IWGN is responsible for putting together the National Nanotechnology Initiative. He has authored or co-authored over 360 articles in peer-reviewed journals and made over 250 Invited/Keynote/Plenary Talks in nanotechnology subjects across the world and over 200 seminars at universities. His research interests include carbon nanotubes, graphene, and various inorganic nanowires, their growth and characterization, and application development in chemical and biosensors, instrumentation, electronics and optoelectronics.

Dr. Meyyappan is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), Electrochemical Society (ECS), American Vacuum Society (AVS), Materials Research Society (MRS), Institute of Physics (IOP), American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE), American Institute of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), National Academy of Inventors, and the California Council of Science and Technology. He is currently the IEEE Electron Devices Society (EDS) Distinguished Lecturer, and was the Distinguished Lecturer on Nanotechnology for both the IEEE Nanotechnology Council and ASME. He is the President-elect of the IEEE Electron Devices Society.

For his contributions and leadership in nanotechnology, he has received numerous awards including: a Presidential Meritorious Award; NASA's Outstanding Leadership Medal; Arthur Flemming Award given by the Arthur Flemming Foundation and the George Washington University; IEEE Judith Resnick Award; IEEE-USA Harry Diamond Award; AIChE Nanoscale Science and Engineering Forum Award; Distinguished Engineering Achievement Award by the Engineers' Council; Pioneer Award in Nanotechnology by the IEEE-NTC; Sir Monty Finniston Award by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (UK); Outstanding Engineering Achievement Merit Award by the Engineers' Council; IEEE-USA Professional Achievement Award; AVS Nanotechnology Recognition Award; IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society Merit Award; Distinguished Grumman Project Engineering Award by the Engineers' Council; AVS Plasma Prize. For his sustained contributions to nanotechnology, he was inducted into the Silicon Valley Engineering Council Hall of Fame in 2009. He has received Honorary Doctorates from the University of Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa and Concordia University, Montreal.


Meyya Meyyappan
Chief Scientist for Exploration Technology
NASA Ames Research Center