Recipient of the 2008 SEMI Akira Inoue Award Is …

Bookmark and Share

Atsutoshi Nishida of Toshiba Corporation is the Recipient of the 2008 Akira Inoue Award

Atsutoshi Nishida

Atsutoshi Nishida, president and CEO of Toshiba Corporation, is the recipient of the 2008 Akira Inoue Award for outstanding achievement in environment, health and safety in the semiconductor industry. The award is sponsored by SEMI and was presented on December 2 during the SEMICON Japan President’s Reception in Tokyo.

Under Mr. Nishida’s leadership, the “Toshiba Group Environmental Vision 2050” was introduced in November 2007. This Environmental Vision establishes targets for enhancing environmental efficiency of products and business processes, while concurrently working to reduce global CO2 emissions by supplying more environmentally-friendly energy systems and eco-products.

"On behalf of SEMI members worldwide, we are pleased to bestow the Akira Inoue Award on Atsutoshi Nishida," said Stanley T. Myers, president and CEO of SEMI. “With this honor, we commend Nishida-san for his environmental vision and leadership. His proactive vision for reducing greenhouse gases and commitment to greater efficiency in Toshiba's use of resources is a strong example of industry EHS stewardship."

Mr. Nishida’s commitment has resulted in significant achievements at Toshiba Corporation. Those cited by the Akira Inoue Award committee in the selection of Mr. Nishida include:

  • Enhancement of Product Eco-Efficiency through the provision of environmentally conscious products,
  • Business process innovations and mitigation of climate change through the reduction of energy-oriented CO2 emissions and other greenhouse gases,
  • Greater efficiency in Toshiba Corporation’s use of resources, resulting in a reduction in the total amount of waste generated by the company, and,
  • Comprehensive management of chemicals, resulting in a reduction of total emissions of chemicals to air and water.

Atsutoshi Nishida has been director, representative executive officer, president, and chief executive officer of Toshiba Corporation since June of 2005. Prior to his current position, Mr. Nishida held numerous senior level positions since he joined the company in 1975.

Toshiba Corporation

Toshiba is a world leader and innovator in pioneering high technology, a diversified manufacturer and marketer of advanced electronic and electrical products spanning information & communications equipment and systems; digital consumer products; electronic devices and components; power systems, including nuclear energy; industrial and social infrastructure systems; and home appliances.

Toshiba was founded in 1875, and today operates a global network of more than 740 companies, with 198,000 employees worldwide and annual sales surpassing US$76 billion.

Background of the Akira Inoue Award

SEMI established the Akira Inoue Award to recognize individuals in the semiconductor industry and academia who have made significant contributions to the industry—and to society—in the area of environment, health and safety. Each year, the Award rewards an individual who shows outstanding EHS leadership and/or successful innovation (of a process, product or material) that improves the industry's EHS record.

Akira Inoue – Champion of the Environment

The late Akira Inoue, a past president of Tokyo Electron Limited and a former member of the SEMI Board of Directors, was a champion of environmental protection and employee health and safety within the semiconductor industry. He encouraged semiconductor equipment and material suppliers, laboratories, chip manufacturers, related industry associations and government organizations to collaborate on EHS development. His efforts were instrumental in establishing the SEMI EHS Division. Inoue was an impassioned and articulate advocate of environmental responsibility. Inoue did not want the current generation to burden future generations with a tremendous environmental bill.

For More Information

Please visit the Akira Inoue Award Website for nomination guidelines and a list of previous recipients. For additional information, please contact Aaron Zude (Senior Director, San Jose) at