European SEMI Award Honors RF-SOI Technology Innovators

SEMI Special Service Award goes to ECSEL’s Andreas Wild

DUBLIN, Ireland ─ March 6, 2018 ─ SEMI today announced recipients of the 2017 European SEMI Award at the SEMI Industry Strategy Symposium (ISS Europe 2018), recognizing their seminal work with radio frequency silicon-on-insulator (RF-SOI) substrates. The award winners’ pioneering research and collaboration with academia and industry led to major advances in RF switches and ushered RF-SOI technology from concept to worldwide adoption.

Today, advanced RF-SOI technology powers a wide range of applications and systems in areas including mobile devices, satellite communications, Internet of Things (IoT), automotive radar and aerospace. The European SEMI Award winners were nominated and selected by their peers within the international semiconductor community.

“With its focus on winning in the global marketplace, ISS Europe is the ideal stage for recognizing the leadership excellence and technical and strategic contributions that led to critical advances in our industry,” said SEMI Europe president Laith Altimime. “We are proud to honor Bernard Aspar, Jean-Pierre Raskin and Andreas Wild as European SEMI Award winners.”

Bernard AsparBernard Aspar, Executive Vice President, Communication & Power BU at Soitec

Aspar founded CEA-Leti spinoff Tracit Technologies in 2003. He was appointed senior vice president of the Tracit Division (now the Communication & Power business unit) when Soitec acquired Tracit in 2006. He has more than 15 years of experience in direct wafer-bonding and layer transfer. Aspar has filed more than 35 patents and co-authored some 100 scientific articles. He holds engineering and Ph.D. degrees in materials sciences and a master’s degree in microelectronics from the University of Montpellier, France.

“This award is a double recognition for Soitec, honoring both the new RF-SOI industry standard we developed and our strong research and development (R&D) partnerships with Université catholique de Louvain and Jean-Pierre Raskin that have helped drive innovation at Soitec,” Aspar said.


Image result for Jean-Pierre Raskin, Professor, President of Electrical Engineering Department at UCL Université catholique de Louvain (UCL)Jean-Pierre Raskin, professor, Université catholique de Louvain (UCL)

Raskin contributed to pioneering scientific studies demonstrating that silicon-based MOS technology could enable affordable, high-quality mobile devices. His findings led to the advent of RF-SOI technology and today impact the global microelectronics industry. His research interests include the modeling, wideband characterization and fabrication of advanced SOI MOSFETs as well as micro and nanofabrication of MEMS / NEMS sensors and actuators, including the extraction of intrinsic material properties at nanometer scale.

He received the Médaille BLONDEL 2015 and the SOI Consortium Award 2016. Raskin is an IEEE Senior Member, EuMA Associate Member and Member of the Research Center in Micro and Nanoscopic Materials and Electronic Devices of the Université catholique de Louvain, where he has been a full professor since 2007. He is author or co-author of more than 350 scientific articles.


SEMI Special Service Award

Dr. Andreas WildDr. Andreas Wild, executive director, ECSEL, was honored with a SEMI Special Service Award for his longtime commitment to spearheading greater cooperation between European companies, research organizations, universities and public authorities to advance the microelectronics industry. Wild’s leadership as executive director of the ENIAC and ECSEL Joint Undertakings has been instrumental in catalyzing the interdisciplinary collaboration across the value chain that today remains a chief competitive asset of the European microelectronics industry.

Established as an autonomous European Union body through the merger of the ENIAC and ARTEMIS Joint Undertakings, the ECSEL Joint Undertaking is a public-private partnership for nanoelectronics, embedded software and smart-system integration.

Prior to joining the ECSEL Joint Undertaking, Wild served as executive director of the ENIAC Joint Undertaking. He was also the European R&D director for Freescale Semiconductor and the Motorola Semiconductor Products sector. Over his career, he also managed Motorola R&D laboratories in the U.S., Latin America and Germany. An author of 28 patents and more than 75 technical publications, he has a master of science degree from the University Politehnica of Bucharest, and a Ph.D. degree from the Institute of Atomic Physics in Bucharest, Romania.

The European SEMI Award, established nearly 30 years ago, recognizes individuals and teams who make significant contributions to the European semiconductor and adjacent industries. Prior award recipients hailed from companies including CEA-Leti, EV Group, Infineon, imec, Semilab, Deutsche Solar, STMicroelectronics, imec, and Fraunhofer Institute.

Please click here for the list of past SEMI European Award Recipients.


About SEMI

SEMI® connects over 2,000 member companies and 1.3 million professionals worldwide to advance the technology and business of electronics manufacturing. SEMI members are responsible for the innovations in materials, design, equipment, software, devices, and services that enable smarter, faster, more powerful, and more affordable electronic products. FlexTech, the Fab Owners Alliance (FOA) and the MEMS & Sensors Industry Group (MSIG) are SEMI Strategic Association Partners, defined communities within SEMI focused on specific technologies. Since 1970, SEMI has built connections that have helped its members prosper, create new markets, and address common industry challenges together. SEMI maintains offices in Bangalore, Berlin, Brussels, Grenoble, Hsinchu, Seoul, Shanghai, Silicon Valley (Milpitas, Calif.), Singapore, Tokyo, and Washington, D.C. For more information, visit and follow SEMI on LinkedIn and Twitter.


Association Contact

Serena Brischetto
SEMI Europe
Tel: +49 30 303080770