SEMI Standards Awards Honor Five Industry Technologists

SAN FRANCISCO, Calif.  – July 12, 2011 - SEMI honored five industry technologists for their outstanding accomplishments in developing standards for the microelectronics and related industries. The SEMI North America Standards awards were announced at a reception held during SEMICON West 2011.

The Merit Award was presented to Mohamed Saleem of Fujikin and Slava Libman of Air Liquide for making a major contribution to the industry through the SEMI Standards program. Saleem’s persistence was critical to the development and approval of SEMI F70-0611, Test Method for Determination of Particle Contribution of Gas Delivery System. Libman led the PV Ultrapure Water Working Group to successful publication of SEMI PV3-0310, Guide for High Purity Water Used in Photovoltaic Cell Processing, and then spearheaded a complete rewrite of SEMI F63, Guide for Ultrapure Water Used in Semiconductor Processing, updating it to reflect the requirements of modern fabs and the International Technology Roadmap for Semiconductors.

The Leadership Award was presented to Janet Cassard of NIST for providing outstanding leadership in guiding the SEMI Standards Program. The award acknowledged Cassard’s leadership of the MEMS/NEMS Materials Characterization Task Force in developing SEMI MS2-1109, Test Method for Step Height Measurements of Thin Films and SEMI MS4-1109, Test Method for Young's Modulus Measurements of Thin, Reflecting Films Based on the Frequency of Beams in Resonance.

The Honor Award was presented to Dick Hockett of Evans Analytical Group who has demonstrated long-standing dedication to the advancement of SEMI Standards. Hockett’s involvement in SEMI Standards dates back to 1997.  He leads the International PV Analytical Test Methods TF, which developed the first SEMI PV Standard, PV1-0211, Test Method for Measuring Trace Elements in Silicon For Solar Cells by Glow Discharge Mass Spectrometry. 

The Corporate Device Member Award was presented to Mike Goldstein of Intel.  The award is given to an individual who is acting officially or unofficially as corporate representative from a device manufacturer for outstanding contributions to the development of SEMI Standards. Goldstein’s unfailing leadership of the International 450mm Wafer Task Force has resulted in two published standards: SEMI M74-1108, Specification for 450 mm Diameter Mechanical Handling Polished Wafers, and SEMI M76-0710, Specification for Developmental 450 mm Diameter Polished Single Crystal Silicon Wafers.

The SEMI Standards Program, established in 1973, covers all aspects of microelectronics process equipment and materials, from wafer manufacturing to test, assembly and packaging, in addition to the manufacture of photovoltaics, flat panel displays and micro-electromechanical systems (MEMS). Over 3,700 volunteers worldwide participate in the program, which is made up of 23 global technical committees. Visit  for more information about SEMI Standards.

About SEMI

SEMI is the global industry association serving the manufacturing supply chains for the microelectronic, display and photovoltaic industries. SEMI member companies are the engine of the future, enabling smarter, faster and more economical products that improve our lives. Since 1970, SEMI has been committed to helping members grow more profitably, create new markets and meet common industry challenges. SEMI maintains offices in Bengaluru, Beijing, Berlin, Brussels, Grenoble, Hsinchu, Moscow, San Jose, Seoul, Shanghai, Singapore, Tokyo, and Washington, D.C. For more information, visit

Association Contacts

James Amano
SEMI International Standards
Phone: 408.943.7977

Deborah Geiger
SEMI Global Communications
Phone: 408.943.7988

# # #