SEMI Announces Recipients of 2008 SEMI Japan Standards Awards

Bookmark and Share

SEMI Announces Recipients of 2008 SEMI Japan Standards Awards in Conjunction with SEMICON Japan 2008

    SEMI honored Mr. Mitsune Sakamoto with the SEMI Japan Standards Award, which recognizes SEMI Standards member for his/her outstanding contributions to the development of standards for the semiconductor and related industries. SEMI also presented four industry experts with the SEMI International Collaboration Award and JRSC Special Appreciation Award. The SEMI Standards awards were announced at the “SEMI Standards Friendship Reception and Member Recognition Awards Ceremony” held on the second day of SEMICON Japan 2008.

    For over a decade, ‘Mitch’ Sakamoto-san has successfully chaired the Japan Information & Control Committee, consistently providing essential and fair leadership based on his high level expertise. He has also built close and significant relationships with other related Technical Committees, as well as, with other regions. The award is given to him in recognition of his contributions to the SEMI Standards activities through effective issue solving and leadership.

    The SEMI Japan Standards Award, the highest Standards honor bestowed in SEMI Japan region, is awarded to individuals who have made significant contributions to the SEMI International Standards program and to the development of semiconductor, FPD and related industry standards. It is given by SEMI, on behalf of JRSC (Japan Regional Standard Committee).

    In addition to the SEMI Japan Standards Award, SEMI bestowed awards in multiple categories to six other recipients. Categories and recipients include:

    The International Collaboration Award – presented to a group of three standards members of Japan Physical Interface & Carriers Committee for making a great dedication to “International 450mm PIC Task Force Activity” , who have been making tremendous efforts, based on close, international collaboration, especially with the North American Team. – Mr. Mikio Ohtani, Asyst Technologies Japan, Inc.; Mr. Tsutomu Okabe, TDK; Mr. Satoshi Odashima, Shin-Etsu Polymer Co., Ltd.

    The JRSC Special Appreciation Award–given in recognition of the outstanding contributions to Standards activities in a specific area, to the member who has been making enormous contributions to the activity of “Mask Data Format for VBS (Variable-Shaped-Beam) Mask Writers” in photo mask standards area, which is a pillar of the lithography industry was awarded to Toshio Suzuki, Dai Nippon Printing Co., Ltd.

    SEMI also appreciates the achievements in Technical Committees and Task Forces by presenting the Technical Committee Awards at Technical Committee meetings, which goes to 33 outstanding Standards members this year.

SEMI Japan 2008 Standards Award

    Mitsune Sakamoto, Tokyo Electron Limited

SEMI International Collaboration Award

    Mikio Otani, Asyst Technologies Japan, Inc.
    Tsutomu Okabe, TDK Corporation
    Satoshi Odashima, Shin-Etsu Polymer Co., Ltd.

JRSC Special Appreciation Award

    Toshio Suzuki, Dai Nippon Printing Co., Ltd.

    Technical Committee Awards

    PI&C Committee

    Noriyoshi Toyoda Hirata Corporation
    Yasuhisa Ito Murata Machinery, Ltd.
    Tatsuhiko Nagata RIGHT MFG. CO., LTD.
    Satoshi Odashima Shin-Etsu Polymer Co., Ltd.

I&C Committee

    Yoshihisa Takasaki DAINIPPON SCREEN MFG. CO., LTD.
    Misaki Nomura Murata Machinery, Ltd.
    Yuko Toyoshima Hitachi High-Technologies Corporation
    Takahito Matsuzawa Tokyo Electron Software Technologies Limited

Traceability Committee

Yoichi Iga NEC Electronics Corporation
Hideaki Ogihara MKS Japan, Inc.
Atsushi Ohwada Adem Ltd.
Hiroyuki Kuwahara TÜV Rheinland Japan Ltd.
David Brown Intel Corporation
Daryl Hatano Semiconductor Industry Association
Winthrop Baylies BayTech Group
Dave Huntley Kinesys Software Inc.

Liquid Chemicals Committee

    Shigeru Ohsugi CKD Corporation

Gases & Facilities Committee

    Yoshifumi Machii Fujikin Incorporated

EHS Committee

    Yoshihiro Sugita TÜV Rheinland Japan Ltd.
    Norio Nakashima Murata Machinery, Ltd.

Silicon Wafer Committee

    Yasuhiro Shimizu Shimizu Consultant
    Masaharu Watanabe NuFlare Technology Inc.

Micropatterning Committee

    Yasushi Ohkubo HOYA CORPORATION
    Toshio Suzuki Dai Nippon Printing Co., Ltd.

FPD Color Filter & Optical Elements Committee

    Masahiro Yoshioka Toray Industries, Inc.
    Toshihiko Ariyoshi NITTO DENKO CORPORATION

FPD Factory Automation Committee

    Yoshihisa Shin System V, Inc.
    Masashi Ohmori Mitsubishi Electric Corporation

FPD Mask Committee

    Atsushi Okazaki SK-Electronics CO. LTD.
    Kaname Nitobe HOYA CORPORATION

Packaging Committee

    Chikao Ikenaga Dai Nippon Printing Co., Ltd.