Ed Segal Named Chairman of SEMI

Bookmark and Share


Mike Splinter, CEO of Applied Materials, Elected to SEMI Board

SAN FRANCISCO, Calif., July 13, 2005 -- SEMI today announced the appointment of Ed Segal, senior advisor to Metron Technology, as chairman of the industry association's International Board of Directors. Segal succeeds Tetsuro (Terry) Higashi, chairman and CEO of Tokyo Electron Ltd., who served as chairman for the past year. The results of the association's annual elections were announced at the annual SEMI membership meeting, which was held today during the SEMICON West 2005 exposition in San Francisco.

In addition to the chairman's election, the association's membership elected Michael Splinter, president and CEO of Applied Materials, to the board of directors. Archie Hwang, chairman and CEO of Hermes Epitek, succeeds Segal as vice chairman of the board.

"SEMI is pleased to welcome Ed Segal as chairman and Mike Splinter as a new board member," said Stanley Myers, president and CEO of SEMI. "Their industry experience and counsel will be of great value to SEMI as the organization moves forward during a time of great change in the industry."

Segal served as CEO of Metron from July 1995 until it was acquired by Applied Materials in December 2004. Prior to joining Metron, he served as president and CEO of Transpacific Technology Corporation, a company he founded in 1982, which later merged with Metron.

"SEMI is a unique global trade organization serving the semiconductor equipment and materials industry. In a period when the needs of members are shifting, I am pleased to have the opportunity to serve as chairman of the organization," said Segal.

In accordance with the association's by-laws, the following board members were reelected; Tetsuro Higashi, chairman and CEO of Tokyo Electron; Archie Hwang, chairman and CEO of Hermes Epitek; Doug Neugold, president and CEO of ATMI; Mary Puma, chairman and CEO of Axcelis Technologies; Stephen Schwartz, chairman, president and CEO of Asyst Technologies; and Akira Yamamura, president of Ferrotec.

Brad Mattson, chairman of Tegal; Ed Segal, senior advisor of Metron Technology; and Duane Wadsworth, director of Micro-Mechanics, were elected as second-term ex-officio directors. Michael Parodi, president of Isel Robotek USA; and Arthur Zafiropoulo, chairman, CEO and president of Ultratech, were reelected as ex-officio directors for a third term.

The global industry association's 19 voting directors represent companies from Europe, Japan, Korea, North America and Taiwan, reflecting the global scope of its activities. The association's charter stipulates that individuals may be elected by the general membership as voting members of the board for a total of four, two-year terms and non-voting ex-officio members for a total of three, one-year terms.

SEMI is a global industry association for companies participating in the microelectronics and display industries. SEMI maintains offices in Austin, Beijing, Brussels, Hsinchu, Moscow, San Jose (Calif.), Seoul, Shanghai, Singapore, Tokyo, and Washington, D.C. For more information, visit www.semi.org.

Editors' Note: A downloadable photograph of new SEMI Chairman Ed Segal is available at www.semi.org/segal


Jonathan Davis/SEMI
Tel: 1.408.943.6937
E-mail: jdavis@semi.org