SEMI International Standards Awards

Bookmark and Share


Karel Urbanek Award Bestowed on Werner Bergholz, Michio Honma

SAN FRANCISCO, Calif., July 13, 2005 -- SEMI tonight honored six industry technologists for their outstanding contributions to the development of standards for the semiconductor and related industries. The SEMI International Standards awards were announced at a reception held on the second day of SEMICON West 2005.

The Karel Urbanek Memorial Award, the highest Standards honor bestowed by SEMI, is awarded to individuals who have made significant contributions to the SEMI International Standards program and to the development of semiconductor and FPD industry standards. It is named in honor of the late Karel Urbanek, co-founder of Tencor Instruments, and former member of the SEMI Board of Directors and an instrumental leader of the SEMI Standards program.

“SEMI is pleased to recognize the outstanding efforts of some of our volunteers through the SEMI Standards Awards,” said Stanley T. Myers, president and CEO of SEMI. “Without their dedication and commitment, the work of SEMI standards simply wouldn’t be possible.”

For 2005, there are two recipients of the Karel Urbanek Award:

Werner Bergholz, International University Bremen, is recognized for his leadership of the European Silicon Wafer and Regional Standards Committees, and his contributions as a long-time member of the SEMI International Standards Committee and its Subcommittee on the Regulations.

Michio Honma, NECEL Corporation, is recognized for his outstanding leadership of standards development and coordination among consortia, especially in the factory automation area as leader of the Japan Traceability Committee, Factory Integration Division, and Regional Standards Committee. He is also recognized for contributions as a member of the International Standards Committee.

Several other awards were presented to North American participants in the SEMI Standards program.

The Merit Award, which is presented to standards volunteers who make major contributions to the semiconductor industry through the SEMI Standards program, was given to Mark Crockett of Applied Materials.

The Leadership Award, presented to those who have provided outstanding leadership in guiding the SEMI Standards program, was awarded to David Bouldin of Texas Instruments.

The Corporate Device Member Award, presented to persons from device manufacturers who have made outstanding contributions to the development of SEMI Standards, was given to Dave Meyers of Texas Instruments.

The Honor Award, granted to individuals who have demonstrated long-standing dedication to the advancement of SEMI Standards and who have served the program consistently and effectively during their careers, was awarded to Eric Sklar of Safety Guru LLC.

The Urbanek Award recipients are selected by the International Standards Committee, the governing board for the SEMI Standards program. Nominations for the other standards awards are made by the SEMI North America Standards staff and standards committee leaders, with the winners selected by a vote of the standards program members.

The SEMI Standards Program, established in 1973, covers all aspects of semiconductor process equipment and materials, from wafer manufacturing to test, assembly and packaging, in addition to the manufacture of flat panel displays and micro-electromechanical systems (MEMS). About 1,100 volunteers worldwide participate in the program, which is made up of 17 global technical committees. Visit for further details about SEMI Standards.

SEMI is a global industry association serving companies that develop and provide manufacturing technology, materials and services to make semiconductors, flat panel displays (FPDs), micro-electromechanical systems (MEMS) and related microelectronics. SEMI maintains offices in Austin, Beijing, Brussels, Hsinchu, Moscow, San Jose (Calif.), Seoul, Singapore, Tokyo, Shanghai and Washington, D.C. For more information, visit SEMI at


Bettina Weiss/SEMI International Standards
Ph: 408.943.6998

Jonathan Davis/SEMI
Ph: 408.943.6937

Editor’s Note: Bios on the two winners of the Karel Urbanek Award are attached. Downloadable photos are available at and

Werner Bergholz
Professor of Electrical Engineering, School of Engineering and Science
International University Bremen

Bergholz received his Diploma and Doctor degree in physics from the University of Goettingen in Germany. He joined Siemens Semiconductor (now called Infineon Technologies) in 1985 as the head of a defect and contamination analysis lab. Following positions in process technology, silicon substrate procurement, and quality management, he accepted a professorship of Electrical Engineering at the International University Bremen in 2002. Since 1999, he has served as co-chair of the SEMI Silicon Wafer Standards Committee and co-chair of the European Regional Standards Committee.

Bergholz has published and contributed to the publication of four books as well as 67 papers. In 1994, he teamed-up with Howard Huff and K. Sumino to organize the Semiconductor Silicon Symposium. He has also been the co-chair for various sessions of Electrochemical Society meetings. Since 2003, Bergholz has co-chaired the series of Silicon Wafer workshops held annually at SEMICON Europa.

Michio Honma
Senior Expert, Process Technology Division
NEC Electronics Corp.

After graduating from Keio University with a Masters Degree in Instrumentation Engineering, Honma joined NEC in 1976, where he worked on wafer stage test technology until 1981. Between 1978 and 1988, he was responsible for increasing yield for new products such as DRAM, SRAM, and EPROM.

From 1986 to 1999, Honma was involved with CIM system development at NEC and is currently engaged in standardization and development of information systems to improve line efficiency.

In 1995, Honma participated in Japanese 5-group communication/information exchange meetings for 300mm standardization activity. From 1997 to 2000, he was leader of the J300 CIM working group, charged with putting together global guidance for CIM in cooperation with I300I. In December 2001, Honma was elected SEMI JRSC chairman, working to solve problems in software standardization, in particular EES. Previously, he participated in the formation of the Japanese Traceability Committee and served as committee chairman, working towards solving wafer ID problems.