Bob Graham Award

Bookmark and Share

Bob Graham Award
A Symbol of Marketing and Sales Excellence

Nominations are now being accepted for the Bob Graham Award. This prestigious award is given to recognize and honor an individual or group for outstanding contributions to customers through the creation or implementation of value-added marketing and/or sales concepts or strategies which enhance customer value and further the growth of the semiconductor equipment and materials industry.

SEMI® presents this award each year in memory of Bob Graham whose marketing prowess was unparalleled in our industry. His contributions were numerous and the impact of those contributions is still felt today. To learn more about Bob Graham, please click here.


Candidate Eligibility

  • Nominees are not required to be from a SEMI member company.
  • Deceased persons cannot be nominated. Exception: Posthumous award may be presented if recipient’s death occurs after the Bob Graham Award Committee selects the recipient.
  • Self-nominations are not accepted.
  • BGA Committee members cannot be nominated while serving on the committee.

Nomination Criteria

  • The marketing and/or sales contribution has to have been implemented and shown to be producing desired results for at least three years.
  • Marketing and/or sales contribution must have demonstrated market growth, or other measurable result.
  • The marketing and/or sales contribution must be customer focused and have value to the customer.
  • The marketing and/or sales contribution should be considered to be original and of strategic value to the semiconductor industry.

Selection process

The Bob Graham Award Committee is responsible for reviewing the nominations received. The Committee carefully considers each of the eligible candidates for the award.

If you know someone, or a group of people, whose achievements should be recognized, please submit their name(s) for consideration.

To nominate, click here. The deadline for submissions is March 18, 2011.

Bob Graham Award Recipients

The prestige of the Bob Graham Award is reflected in the high caliber of past recipients.

2011: Franz Janker

Mr. Franz Janker is recognized for his contributions to developing and implementing the concepts of "SERVICE AS A BUSINESS" as well as the Total Solutions Concept, which both evolved to be very valuable programs for Applied Materials and its customers.

2010: Martin van den Brink

Mr. Van den Brink has systematically aligned ASML’s core competencies to customer needs, which has led to continued market growth in lithography. His relentless push for lower cost of ownership via throughput improvements and tighter CDs has helped keep the lithography market alive.

2009: Peter Hanley

Mr. Hanley was recognized for the development of many original marketing and sales concepts (still implemented today) that lead directly to significant revenue and markets share gains for companies he has served. One of Hanley’s noted accomplishments was helping to keep Moore’s Law on track through the introduction of the “pay for performance” and “performance guarantee” business models, which changed the dynamics between customers and suppliers and expanded the served available market (SAM). In addition, Hanley was early to recognize the importance of the transition from aluminum to copper, and was instrumental in initiation and implementation of strategic (technology and marketing) programs in his company, effectively introducing copper two generations earlier than the ITRS predicted

2008: Richard Hong

Mr. Hong was recognized for being the first person to successfully implement “In Line Monitoring” at a major semiconductor manufacturer (Samsung) and he proved that this concept would have a dramatic positive impact on yield and hence the way that all future semiconductor fabs through out the world would ultimately run their fabs utilizing this ILM concept.

2007: Richard E. Dyck

Mr. Dyck was recognized for facilitating greater cultural awareness and business relationships between the Japanese semiconductor industry and the U.S. semiconductor industry. He contributed greatly to the development of the industry in Japan and played a pivotal role in expanding the opportunities for U.S. equipment suppliers there.

2006: Aubrey C (Bill). Tobey

Tobey was recognized for conceptualizing the wafer stepper as a natural extension of the D.W. Mann photorepeater, and for promoting its advantages over the then-popular e-beam direct exposure approach. Because of Tobey's marketing presence, the wafer stepper became one of the most significant tools in semiconductor manufacturing.

2005: Archie Hwang

Mr. Hwang is recognized for being the first to promote and develop a service infrastructure and culture for semiconductor equipment sales in Taiwan. He established local support and spare parts centers for fast response and offered free training to enable customers to quickly learn how to use equipment, which has since become the central strategy for any semiconductor equipment company entering the Taiwan market.

2004: Ed Braun

Mr. Braun was recognized for successfully developing products and alliances across multiple markets. This strategy helped offset high R&D costs for specific technologies and minimized the effects of the silicon cycles on small semiconductor equipment companies.

2003: Shigeru “Steve” Nakayama

Mr. Nakayama was recognized for his effective marketing efforts in unifying the semiconductor equipment and materials industry and securing international cooperation during the period of trade friction between the US and Japan in the 1980's. His great achievement was to successfully market the idea that global competitiveness is good for the entire industry.

2002: Jerry Hutcheson and Edward Segal

Mr. Hutcheson was recognized for pioneering and developing the semiconductor equipment industry’s first database. Mr. Segal was recognized for implementing the semiconductor industry’s first global sales and support organization.

2001: Jim Healy and Barry Rapozo

The Bob Graham Award Committee selected two industry veterans to receive the Bob Graham Award in 2001. They were honored for the establishment of relationship-based selling processes that identified and met customer needs.

2000: Arthur Zafiropoulo

Mr. Zafiropoulo was the first recipient of the Bob Graham Award. He was honored for the use of marketing to help win acceptance of plasma-etching and mix-and-match lithography.

2010 Bob Graham Award Committee

SEMI is grateful to the following individuals for their diligent and thorough work during the recipient selection process:

Richard Dyck, Committee Chair
TCS Japan K K

Peter Hanley

Jim Healy
Logic Vision

Richard Hong
KLA-Tencor Korea

Kurt Kwok
Applied Materials

Karl Levy
Novellus Systems

Barry Rapozo

Paul Sakamoto
DFT Microsystems

Anantha Sethuraman, Ph.D.

Gopal Shankar

Aubrey (Bill) C. Tobey
ACT International, Inc.

For additional information, please contact:
Marite Pantangco
SEMI Global Events
Phone: 408. 943.6940