2018FLEX Short Course 3 Instructors Profile

Flexible Device Integration & Packaging

Pradeep Lall
Auburn University

Pradeep Lall is the MacFarlane Endowed Professor with the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Director of the NSF-CAVE3 Electronics Research Center at Auburn University. He is author and co-author of 2-books, 14 book chapters, and over 500 journal and conference papers in the field of electronics reliability, safety, energy efficiency, and survivability. Dr. Lall is a fellow of the ASME, fellow of the IEEE, a Fellow of the Alabama Academy of Science. He is recipient of the NSF-IUCRC Association’s Alex Schwarzkopf Prize for Technology Innovation, Alabama Academy of Science’s Wright A. Gardner Award, IEEE Exceptional Technical Achievement Award, ASME-EPPD Applied Mechanics Award, SMTA’s Member of Technical Distinction Award, Auburn University’s Creative Research and Scholarship Award, SEC Faculty Achievement Award, Samuel Ginn College of Engineering Senior Faculty Research Award, Three-Motorola Outstanding Innovation Awards, Five-Motorola Engineering Awards, and Twenty Best-Paper Awards at national and international conferences.

Douglas Hackler
American Semiconductor

Mr. Hackler is President & CEO of American Semiconductor, having co-founded the company in 2001, and is a co-inventor of Semiconductor-on-Polymer technology. At American Semiconductor Doug maintains overall corporate and operational responsibilities. He is a flexible electronics industry advocate and leader who is known for his commitment to industry development of new flexible products. He has more than 30 years of experience in wafer fabrication, process development, manufacturing and commercialization at American Semiconductor, M/A-Com, Zilog, Intel, NorTel and General Instrument. Doug has served as the Principal Investigator (PI) on multiple projects, generated multiple patents and patents pending for conventional and flexible solid state technology and has published numerous technical papers. Doug holds engineering degrees from the University of Idaho (MSEE), Boise State University (BSEE) and in management from Texas Tech University (BBA).
Kurt Christenson

Dr. Kurt Christenson is a Senior Research Scientist with Optomec. He holds a B.A. in Physics from Bethel University in St. Paul, Minnesota and an M.S. and Ph.D. in Physics from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. Prior to joining Optomec, Dr. Christenson was a postdoctoral fellow at IBM’s T.J. Watson Research Center in Yorktown Heights, New York and later spent 19 years developing hardware and processes for the semiconductor industry at FSI International in Chaska, Minnesota. Dr. Christenson joined Optomec as a Senior Research Scientist in 2010. He holds 18 issued and three pending patents and has published over 90 articles in journals, technical conferences and trade magazines.