2018FLEX Short Course 1 Instructors Profiles

Basics, Flexible Hybrid Electronics & Lab to Fab




Mark Poliks
Binghamton University

Mark D. Poliks is a Professor of Systems Science and Industrial Engineering and Technical Director of the Center for Advanced Microelectronics Manufacturing (CAMM) at the State University of New York at Binghamton. He is an expert in electronics packaging, flexible electronics, materials, processing, roll-to-roll manufacturing, in-line quality control and reliability. He has authored numerous technical papers and invited presentations. He holds over forty US patents.

Poliks is active in the leadership of the IEEE/CPMT Electronic Components and Technology Conference (ECTC) serving as chair of several technical program sub-committees. He chaired the 2010 ECTC plenary session on "The Evolution of Mobile Processing Architectures" and was a symposium organizer of "Roll-to-Roll Processing of Electronics and Advanced Functionalities" at the 2012 fall meeting of the Materials Research Society. 

He has held senior technical management positions at Endicott Interconnect Technologies, Inc. and IBM Microelectronics. He was a founding member of the IBM Materials Research Community and received an IBM award for "Excellence in Technical Management." Poliks received his Ph.D. in materials science and engineering from the University of Connecticut and held a McDonnell-Douglas postdoctoral fellowship at Washington University in St. Louis.

James J. Watkins
University of Massachusetts, Amherst

James Watkins is Professor of Polymer Science and Engineering and Director of the Center for Hierarchical Manufacturing, a National Science Foundation Nanoscale Science and Engineering Center (NSEC) at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. Professor Watkins received his B.S. and M.S. degrees in Chemical Engineering from the John Hopkins University and his Ph.D. in Polymer Science and Engineering from the University of Massachusetts. He joined the Chemical Engineering faculty at UMass in 1996 and the Polymer Science and Engineering faculty in 2005. He is the recipient of a Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award and a David and Lucile Packard Foundation Fellowship for Science and Engineering and is a fellow of the American Physical Society.
 Mike Mastropietro